In December 1930 John C Fargher set up in business as J C Fargher & Co Ltd. and commenced trading from an outlet in Castle Street, Douglas.
Staff included son in law Frank Kelly (administrative duties) and electrical engineers Ray Kelly, Crispin Tetley and Jeff Corrin.
Additional premises were obtained in the early 40’s on Well Road Hill but the Castle Street premises were retained as the retail outlet.
In the early 70’s, the company ceased to trade in retail goods and concentrated on repair and maintenance of heavier electrical equipment, motors and a few lifts. The company at that time operated from Market Street, Douglas.
In 1985 the business was purchased by Ian & Jane Kaighin.
By the early 80’s Cris Tetley, Ray Kelly and John Fargher had passed on, Jeff Corrin had retired and in 1985, Frank Kelly and David Mylchreest (nephew of J C Fargher) sold the business to Ian and Jane Kaighin.
The company was renamed J C FARGHER 1985 LTD
By this time, 70% of the work carried out was lift maintenance.
In 2002 the company moved from Bridge Works, Douglas to Middle River Industrial Estate, Douglas.
Presently, the company employs 10 staff. Between them, the four engineers have 70 years experience in their field. The two apprentices currently employed are training through the Dept Trade and Industry IOM Government Apprentice scheme.
John C Fargher was Mayor of Douglas between 1939 and 1941.